9 things about me

I shared some of these 9 things about me over Instagram a few months ago. I though it would fun to have them over here too! I’m not sure if I’ve ever introduced myself here before so so it’s probably a high time to share a few things. I have a post about 15 thing you probably don’t know about me, if you want to have a look :).

SHnordic's big floor to ceiling kitchen open display shelving
my kitchen display shelving

9 things about me: Family

My name is Susanna and I live in Bath with Mr Nordic and our two children. We also have a beautiful, even if a little dim, cat Ebba, who’s been with us for 4 years now. She’s a British Shorthair cat, and not especially friendly with us. I’m originally from Finland but have lived in the UK for more than a decade. We try to go back to visit friends and family a couple of times of the year. A couple of years ago we bought our own little Nordic summer cottage couple of years ago. We are currently still renovating it, it’s a slow progress.

We initially lived in London, and then west from London before moving to Bath. Mr Nordic and I had our honeymoon in Bath. I think that’s when I decided I would love to live here one day. Mr Nordic wasn’t keen on the idea of moving initially, so it took me almost two years to convince him. Now he loves living in Bath as much as I do so it was definitely worth it.

taking a break

Our new house

The house we now live in is the first and only house we saw in Bath. We came to see it, fell in love, put in an offer, had it accepted and then lost it 12 hours later. That was heartbreaking and we were so upset. Lucky for us, the sale fell through a few months later and we took a second change. This time we were successful and the house was officially ours a few months later!

I absolutely loved our old house (you can see our living room here and old kitchen here) but it was so exciting to have a new project to plan.

We moved in to the new house, made a long wish list for our architects and applied for a planning permission within a couple of months. We designed our new kitchen whilst waiting, spoke to builders and tried to get all ready for the renovation started. Planning permission was approved 9 months after moving in, and we spend the next few months getting quotes from builders.

It took us over 10 months of renovating and have now lived here for 8 months. It’s still a working progress!

our new ensuite bathroom

How I got here

Although I talk a lot about decor and renovating, my background is actually in science and research. I left my corporate job as combining it with family life became too tricky. Long days and commuting took most part of the day. I felt like I was constantly missing out on important things in my kids lives.

I started my photography, content creation and online education business with 128 instagram followers and zero marketing skills. I had just turned 40 (my version of a midlife crisis :), without knowing any digital business owners and nobody expected it to succeed. I definitely didn’t get where I am now overnight – but after a lot of trial and error, I found my path. I feel fulfilled by my work—something I’d rarely experienced in my regular job and have control over my time whilst earning more than I did before.

Now, I help creative entrepreneurs, bloggers, influencers, and coaches ditch overwhelm, increase their Insta reach & growth, make more money, and create a business that supports their dream life. My goal is to inspire you and show you that anything is possible. If you can dream it, I can help you in bringing it to life.

9 (random) things about me

  • I’m fascinating by cave diving and climbing Mount Everest and love reading stories and articles on both topics. Both also absolutely terrify me and I have no interest ever try either!
  • I’m allergic to shellfish
  • Highlight of my acting career: I was one half of a donkey in a school play in year 7. Guess which half?!?!?!
  • Both my kids have Finnish first names and English last names. They’ll be forever spelling their names no matter where they are.
  • I’m scared of heights and ants. I had a neutral relationship with ants until I watched an episode of Macgyver where a horde of killer ants destroyed everything in its path. It was absolutely terrifying. I don’t remember how old I was, but I still get all stressed out if there are lots of ants around!

Similar Posts

4 Comments

  1. Nice to meet you Susanna, another Finn in the blogging world. Love the look of your new renovated house. I used to live in Hampton UK with my englis boyfriend (now husband) and I loved the life there though we never saw snow.

    1. Ah how lovely to meet you too! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. I remember that episode of McGyver! It was one of the 1st episodes I watched as a kid and is seared into my brain forever!

    1. Absolutely terrifying, wasn’t it! Can’t believe my parents let me watch it 🙂

Comments are closed.